Let's Pretend Records

  • $8.00

BEEF first began appearing in various basements and dives of Cincinnati on Labor Day, 2022. BEEF is the brainchild of drummer/lead vocalist Takoda Hortenberry, first joined by his wife Ally on keys/vox, and a cast of players in Richmond, Virginia. Following a slew of singles, an EP, and a relocation to BEEF’s true home of Cincinnati, a new lineup featuring bassist John Hoffman (Vacation) and fellow Richmond expat/guitarist Sam Richardson was born. Influences include: punk, sex, violence, and red meat. BEEF recorded their entire eight song set on eight track tape just over the river at The Lodge in Dayton, KY in early 2023. Hoffman engineered and mixed the madness, Caufield Schnug (Sweeping Promises) mastered it, and Richardson’s prolific Feel It imprint will be releasing BEEF’s self-titled debut album on LP, with a cassette edition available from Let’s Pretend Records.

Recorded by John Hoffman at The Lodge
Mixed by BEEF at The Lodge
Mastered by Caufield Schnug

Artwork by Takoda Hortenberry



1. Lying to You
2. D.N.A.
3. Backlash
4. New Man
5. Quickie
6. Gimme More
7. Deathrays
8. Beef


Product Highlights

• Limited to 100 Tapes
• Black Shells w/ White Imprint
• Download Included


Sold Out