Water Under the Bridge Records

  • $10.00

NOW!!!! The aptly titled Mood of Defiance full-length features a mutated lineup vastly different from the first EP, In a Box (Water Under the Bridge / Recess Records). This lineup includes the late Gary Kail & Danny Phillips, both former members of the band Anti and co-owners of the defunct label, New Underground Records (1982-1984). With this lineup comes an eclectic range of styles ranging from punk to mod to psych, all stitched together by the vocal stylings of Rachel “Hatha” Mason. The record opens with “The Divided States of America,” a commentary that could stand true today as it did when this record was originally released back in 1982. Tracks like, “Girl in a Painting” and “Sticky Lips” break from the 80's punk mold, set by the opening track and brings about a sound reminiscent of the Jam & Gang of Four. MOD then dives into the acid-soaked “Feel Real” — which might just make Jim Morrison blush. Sew up this record with a poem and some pretty solid bonus tracks from the New Underground Life Is … compilation trilogy and there you have it … NOW … a great look into yesterday …



01. The Divided States of America
02. Peanut Butter Skies 
03. Girl in a Painting 
04. Duck Back Flow 
05. Sticky Lips
06. Plastic Duck Holders
07. Afternoon/My Garden
08. Painted Dragon 
09. Feel Real
10. Poem 
11. Not What You Think 
12. Empty Me*
13. Girl in a Painting Pt. 2 *
14. Flower Child *
15. American Love Song* 
16. 153rd St. 9/12/79 


Product Highlights

• 4-panel Digipak 
• Includes Four Bonus Tracks* 
• Includes Mini Insert Replicas 
• Includes Digital Download 



Sold Out